|"Double OMG, Eva. I'm totes getting déjà vu!"|
You would think Serena Williams would be tired of these controversies at the US Open but sometimes a girl just can't help herself.
Two years and a round later, ReRe got all in an uproar with chair umpire Eva Asderaki after getting penalized a point and going down a break for yelling out during play. She thought she hit a forehand winner and screamed "C'mon! but Sam Stosur got a piece of her racquet on the ball. Eva gave the point to the Aussie under the hindrance rule. ReRe was less than happy. Ok, she was fucking pissed.
In the end, the incident was more of an annoyance and did nothing to shake Sammy's focus. But it was like raw meat to the media sharks who couldn't wait to get right into it:
Q. Regardless of whether you thought it was right or wrong, the decision, do you think it's fair on the official to berate her like that?
SERENA WILLIAMS: Excuse me? To berate?
Q. Do you think it's fair on the official?
SERENA WILLIAMS: I think everyone is so intense out there. I was really intense, and everyone just wants to do great. I know I did. Um, yeah, just try my best, you know? It's like giving it 100%.
Q. What is your history with that chair umpire, and what episodes might you have had with her in the past?
SERENA WILLIAMS: Oh, I don't know. I don't know. I just was out there trying to fight against a great player who played really, really well. I don't know.
Q. But between games, you referred to something that happened in the past with her. What were you referring to?
SERENA WILLIAMS: I can't think off the top of my head, actually.
Q. A match in Doha maybe where you were called for a similar penalty?
SERENA WILLIAMS: I promise you if I knew I would tell you, but I don't know off the top of my head.
Q. According to the ITF, a chair umpire has latitude in assessing a point or in replaying the point if the action was not deliberate. Did you deliberately hinder your opponent?Nice try, press. It may be bait but she ain't biting.
SERENA WILLIAMS: (Laughter.) No. I mean, I didn't, but I can't even -- you know, I think my opponent played really well. I actually thought it was a winner, but she did really good to even put her like racquet on it. I thought it was a clear winner. I thought it was the hat drop rule, where if you drop a hat you kind of replay the point. I don't know. I think for the most part it was just -- I don't know, I tried my best. As always, I gave my 100%.
Q. Do you regret at all what you said to the chair umpire?
SERENA WILLIAMS: I just am really excited to be here really and to have gotten so far. To get here has been a really great experience for me. I regret losing, but I think there was nothing I could do today. I think Sam played really, really well.
Q. Why would you not regret saying things like...
SERENA WILLIAMS: I don't even remember what I said. It was just so intense out there. It's the final for me, and I was just -- I have to go -- I guess I'll see it on YouTube. I don't know (Laughter.) I don't know. I was just in the zone. I think everyone, when they play, they kind of zone out kinda thing. I don't know, I'll see it later, I'm sure.
Q. Was there a part of you that said, I can't believe this is sort of happening again, this scene?
SERENA WILLIAMS: No, not at all. That is definitely different moments. So, no, not at all.
Q. You're one of our greatest champions and an elite athlete, a real role model. Do you think it's important for top level athletes, even in tremendous heat of the moment, to treat refs and officials with respect?
SERENA WILLIAMS: Um, I don't know. I think that, you know, when you're an athlete, whether you're looking at a basketball player or football player or tennis players, these athletes, we train all our lives since I was three -- and I lie about my age a lot, but I'm 29. (Smiling). You know, we live for these moments, you know. Everyone lives to be, you know, in the final of Wimbledon or the final at the US Open. Whatever happens in that moment, you live for them and we breathe for them, and hopefully I'll be back for them.
Q. Wouldn't that be the moment to be most respectful of all at that moment?
SERENA WILLIAMS: I honestly don't know the answer. Everyone, we athletes, give 2,000%. I know I do every time.
UPDATE: She was fined $2K for verbally abusing the chair ump but won't face a suspension as it was not deemed a "major offense" said the USTA. Bigger question right now: What the hell did Mike Bryan do to deserve a $10K fine???
[Video via: OzBroadcasting]